Chapter #3 Uncertainty: Know You Don’t Know

13 07 2007

chasing daylight

Jonathan was certain about somethings, and at the same time he was able and willing to operate in the realm of uncertainty. He called out to his armor-bearer and said “Come, let’s go over to the outpost of those uncircumcised fellows. Perhaps the Lord will act in our behalf.” (1 Samuel 14:6) You gotta love that. This is what he was saying in plain English, “Let’s go and pick a fight. Maybe God will help.” p. 68

Often when God calls me on a journey, I find myself wanting…

  • certainty instead of risk
  • knowledge of all the details
  • guarantees of the outcome
  • personal success
  • an easy road

Jonathan gave not just his life to God, but he gave God the moment right in front of him. In the middle of uncertainty, he trusted the only One who is certain. It was two against thousands. Even if the outcome didn’t work in his favor, He was going to put his confidence in God. Live or die, Jonathan was going to give this moment for God’s purposes. If this was to be his last moment, it would be his greatest moment. We often want God to do the miraculous in our life, but we are unwilling to move into situations and moments where we have to put our complete trust and confidence in Him.

Following Christ means following Him into uncertainty. May we live with a “perhaps the Lord will act” faith. In reality, is there any other kind of faith?

Actions

Information

4 responses

18 07 2007
Jeff

This chapter has the my favorite sentence in the book. “You are the living product of divine intentionality. For me this was such a powerful statement. I get nervous about the outcome of my actions and worried about the unknown. But if I can live my life, with my actions I take in His name, I need not fear the outcome for the outcome was determined long before I decided to react.

For me, it was even more than just “perhaps the lord will act” faith. “The lord already acted it and the outcome is all planned out”. Do I have a strong enough faith to carry out “the plan?”

18 07 2007
Tim Kade

Jeff,
I find the statement about “divine intentionality” is both comforting and challenging for my life.
1. Comforting to know God’s already acted, is acting and will act on our behalf.
2. Challenging to know that He has intention for our lives. Our role is more than to just make CO2.

What I have been challenged with lately in living out God’s purpose is that’s not just about the big plan for my life, but it’s about following Christ into the divine moments each day. The song “Little Wonders” by Rob Thomas seems to sum it up for me.

18 07 2007
Jeff

I totally agree with you that it will ultimately be, the divine moments each day, that will define our big plan for life. And that is definetly the challenge to have that “Jonathan faith” to be ready to act on God’s plan.

And the hardest part right now in my life going through this book and even knowing the outcome of Jonathan’s divine moment. If I was put in the same position, I don’t think my faith or relationship with Christ is strong enough such that I would react the same way as Jonathan.

19 07 2007
Tim Kade

Jeff,
Maybe. Maybe not. I have a feeling that God has some moments in your life right now that are just as big as Jonathan’s. The choices are the same. Move forward or get stuck in the moment. One of the biggest mistakes I think people make in spiritual growth is thinking it’s about proving ourselves to God. Its about God proving himself to us, over and over and over again until we have faith in his faithfulness.

Leave a Reply

