30/30: Thermometers. Thermostats. Your Home.

18 10 2007

thermastat.jpg

As a kid I was always amazed with that strange looking machine on the wall in our home. I wasn’t really sure what it was there for until a cold winter morning when I saw my mom fiddling with what she called “thermostat.” It sounded like the thing hanging outside the window, but it had a dramatically different purpose. A thermometer reflects the climate, but a thermostat sets the climate.

There are two kinds of people in the world: Thermometers and Thermostats. Thermometers simply reflect the culture they live in. They buy, wear, and say the things everyone else does. They react to situations in the same way everyone else does.

God is calling us to be Thermostats in our world. Christ wants us to live in such a way that our lives would set the tone in our workplaces, in our homes, and in our neighborhoods. Thermostats influence others for good and positively impact the social climate in which they are placed. Two thousand years ago, a guy named Paul traveled around the Mediterranean being a Thermostat where ever he went. In Ephesians 4:1-4, he challenged the church, I urge you to live a life worthy of the calling you have received. Be completely humble and gentle; be patient, bearing with one another in love. Make every effort to keep the unity of the Spirit through the bond of peace.”

Every one of us can live two ways. We can simply complain about our situation, or we can set the tone relationally in how we are going to act. Even if you are the only one, I urge you to live a Thermostat life. Live a life that reflects Christlike humility, gentleness, patience, and love in every single relationship.

Our new series “Life Rules” begins October 21. The next six weeks at Epic, God is going to challenge each of us to move from being a thermometer to being a thermostat. Your home may never be the same again.

Actions

Information

4 responses

18 10 2007
macairgordon

I’m really looking forward to this series. So often, we don’t even realize we have blended back into society. We have become a thermometer once again. Last week you were talking about where each of us struggles. Well, this is truly one of my perasonal struggles. I have the heart to stand out for God, but when it comes to actually doing it, my flesh screams.

God has been working on my over the years to bring the passion back to go against society once again. Ephesians 4:1-4 is one of my favorite verses. Very challanging, but when I want to blend back in, that verse is a great reminder of what my life should look like. People are watching us all the time, so wether we like it or not, our actions are speaking volumes about what and who we believe in.

Thank God he is bigger then all of my mistakes! Thanks for doing this series, we all need it!

18 10 2007
Laurie Purgaric

We had a barameter in our house when I was a kid – it was supposed to tell you when a storm was coming, I think. As we close in on the holiday season, some of us experience the inevitable family conflicts. That’s when I need to realize I can’t change others’ behavior, to pray about changing my own, & give God control. I agree with Macair, this is a timely series. I need to stop blending in and let my actions speak to others what I believe.

18 10 2007
Tim Kade

This series is needed in our house too. These are topics that I will be speaking from a “work-in-progress” mode in my own life. I know Christ has transformational stuff in store for all of us.

18 10 2007
Jodi

Good Stuff! I’ve never thought about the difference between a thermostat and a thermometer. I definitely want to be a thermostat, but I totally suck at it…I usually go with the flow, and I’m always worried about pleasing the whole world. This will be some challenging thinking for me.

Leave a Reply

