30/30: Busyness. Someday Lies. Dickens.

10 12 2007

scrooge.jpgOur family visited the Dickens Festival in Holly, MI and the highlight was the street performance of the “A Christmas Carol.” Somehow I got called on from the audience to be the clock for the performance (see below). All the “bongs” (not that kind) got me thinking about what we do with the time that we have here on this earth.

We often believe three lies about time…

  1. Someday I’ll have more time.
  2. Someday I’ll have enough time to do the things I really want to do.
  3. Someday things will settle down.

We often live at faster and faster speeds with no thought of the consequences of a busy lifestyle. I believe the major cost of busyness is shallow relationships. We end up skimming in our relationships with those that we love the most and we skim our relationship with God. Relationships that were once vibrant and growing have been put on the back burner have become mundane and taken for granted. We live the “someday” lie. Scrooge realized the hard truth that “someday it all goes back in the box.” Someday this life will end.

In Luke 12, Jesus told a poignant story about successful guy who believed these three lies. He said “I ‘ll build up enough and then “And I’ll sit back and say to myself, “My friend, you have enough stored away for years to come. Now take it easy! Eat, drink, and be merry!” But God said to him, ‘You fool! You will die this very night. Then who will get everything you worked for?’ “Yes, a person is a fool to store up earthly wealth but not have a rich relationship with God.” For all the wisdom of this man’s entrepreneurial endeavors, all his clock2.jpgplanning for the future and all of his investments, there was one scenario that he had forgotten to take into account…it was his death.

Stories like that make us sit up straight and take a serious look at how we are investing our life. Am I investing my time things that will last for eternity? My relationship with Jesus Christ? My relationships with others?

Get alone with Christ this week and take a look at how you spend your time each day. A great verse to pray is Psalm 139:23-24 “Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. Point out anything in me that offends you, and lead me along the path of everlasting life.”

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

