Catalyst: Opportunity Statue

11 04 2008

IMAGE: Opportunity Statue. Leaders manage opportunities. Everyone has 86,400 seconds each day to use or abuse. Opportunity is a Greek statue with hair in front, but bald in the back so you cannot grab it once it is gone. Good leaders seize moments. They make the most of their time and they time their moves. Time is more valuable than money and they invest it as though it were a treasure.

VERSE: Psalm 90:12 “Teach us to number our days, O Lord, that we may apply our hearts with wisdom”

LEARNING: God has been pretty intent on getting this verse into my mind. Two weeks ago, I was stuck on it when I was reading Psalms. It really hit me. The same verse was the theme of the closing song at Epic a few Sundays back (Life Means So Much by Chris Rice). Last week a good friend Denise was sharing all that she learned from a 2 Day “Pause” Retreat with Dan Webster. She was talking about pausing yearly and monthly with Christ as we plan out days. And then today as I opened up the Habitudes book and here it is again.

Maybe you’re one of those Christ followers who learns from Christ the first time He mentions something to you. I guess I am just a slow learner…I need multiple whacks with His Holy 2×4 for God to get my attention. “Okay I’m listening! I’m finally ready to change.”

CATALYST ASSIGNMENT – REFLECTIVE EXERCISE: Here’s the lyrics of the song of “Life Means So Much by Chris Rice.” Buy the song from iTunes, listen to it 2-3 times, read Psalm 90 and take 15 minutes with Christ to reflect on your life. What verse from the song or scripture is Christ using to speak to you right now? Post your learning.

Every day is a journal page. Every man holds a quill and ink.
And there’s plenty of room for writing in…all we do and believe and think.

So will you compose a curse? Or will today bring the blessing?
Fill the page with rhyming verse or some random sketching?

Teach us to count the days.
Teach us to make the days count.
Lead us in better ways.
Somehow our souls forgot
Life means so much

Everyday is a bank account and time is our currency.
So no one’s rich, nobody’s poor. We get twenty-four hours each.
So how are you gonna spend…Will you invest or squander?
Try to get ahead? Or help someone who’s under?

Has anybody lived who knew the value of a life?
And don’t you think giving his own
Would prove the worth of yours and mine?

EPILOGUE: Maybe it’s because I am getting older, but I am finally realizing how fast life travels by. A few weeks back when I was sick this was one of the 3 major learnings. Here was the blog entry from 3-24 “Life is Short. Enjoy the Moments. I ran across an old “Out of the Grey” tape Kathy and I listened to a lot the year we went to Africa. The songs were still as good as they were in 1993. The opening lyrics from “Nothing Gonna Keep Me From You” still resonated like it did back in the day: “Sometimes life makes me crazy. Can’t make sense of what my eyes see. All that I can hold on to…Is Your hold on me.” It really blew me me away how fast life goes. In a moment, 15 years have passed from my life. In all the movement of life, enjoy the moments.”

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

