Church Planting Sucks

27 06 2008

Actually it doesn’t, but sometimes it feels like it. I came across this post from a church planter in Edmonton a couple nights ago…Church Planting Sucks. Every couple of months I have one of those restless and sleepless nights where I contemplate everything about my life…where I am, where I want to be, where’s God. In those moments it’s seems the default setting in your mind is “all the negative thoughts and insecurities you have ever felt about yourself and everything that you wish was different about your life.” I’ve learned to embrace those moments with Christ…and actually I am feeling quite good about life right now and I’m at peace in ways I’ve never been before. Being part of church plant is the greatest and most challenging thing that I’ve ever done for Christ and Daniel Taylors list was spot on what you go through.

1. It’s harder than you think – but not in that ways you expect. I expected it to be a lot of work and I expected there to be discouraging times and I expected there would be times I would want to quit, but I didn’t expect that I would spend most of my time doing stuff that I don’t love and doesn’t excite me….

2. It’s more fun than you think it’s going to be. Strap on your helmet, but it is fun. You’re building something from scratch and fighting and winning and failing. It tough, but it’s not boring…

3. There are people who don’t want you to succeed…Identify these people and ignore them.

4. There are people who desperately want to you to succeed…Identify these people and seek them out.

5. It is not easy to figure out who are #3 people and who are #4 people.

6. Weather will kick your ass…

7. You will also schedule something no one will show up for…

8. This is not the church you built in your head…Trying to be the church in your head will kill your joy for the church you have, so kill the church in your head.

9. Don’t take anything personally. People will come to your church and go…If your confidence and self image depend on the “success” of your church, you are screwed as a pastor and will be a terrible person to live with.

10. Settle the failure question before you start. The reality is most church plants don’t make it.

Bonus – The most important thing you will do is to decide what success looks like. Remember that this is your choice. Choose to define success by obedience. Ask God where he wants you to go, and fight with everything you have to get there. Back to #1 and #2, it will not be easy, and it will be fun.

I found it was a very encouraging list.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

