Catalyst: Taxi Principle

16 07 2008

READING: John 11-15

LEARNING: Always ask the price before you get in the cab. As leaders we need to count the cost and prepare in advance before we set out on a journey.

Good Leaders see where God is taking the team before the team sees it. Great Leaders also see the upcoming challenges and difficulties the team will have to overcome before they get there.

Good Leaders know a price will have to be paid to reach the goal. Great Leaders identify the time it will take and the skills that will have to be developed for the team to achieve the mission.

Good Leaders set out to achieve great things for God. Great Leaders have the perseverance and tenacity to follow through until the very end.

What area of your life is God moving you from a good leader to a great leader?

For some inspiration to move from good to great…rent “Apollo 13.” One of the best movies on leadership.

Actions

Information

4 responses

17 07 2008
Denise Hillbom

This lesson is very timely as Epic is taking on the challenge of having 2 services this fall. I know Tim and the leadership team have not made this decision lightly. They have counted the cost, and are in the process of working out every detail. I also know this is all coming about because of the leading and direction of the Holy Spirit.

The question for us as a congregation is who are we following and what are we investing in? As we looked at the 3 portions of scripture in this lesson, Matthew 24:1-13 teaches we are foolish if we aren’t prepared and filled with the wisdom that comes from following Christ. Luke 14:25-33 shows us that as followers of Christ we will eventually have to give up something for the cause of Christ, weather it be our time, talents, gifts or resources. Then in Luke 12:16-21 we see when we store our treasures for ourselves, all is lost when we die. A better way to live is to invest in our eternal future, our eternal IRA or 40lK, which is what we take with us. What we have done for Christ is not lost, all else is. This brings us back to the question who are we following and what are we investing in. I think this is where God is speaking to me, to give more of my time, dig deeper into my check book and use the gifts He has given me to help grow His Church.

20 07 2008
thenonconformer

If you read the Book of acts then you did notice that the emphasis on the Holy Spirit, and distributing money, food to the local poor people was part of the reason the churches next were so popular and growing. While in contrast today many Chruches. pastors, members, adherents, are selfish cheapskates.

Secondly all pastors, elders, ministers should be called specifically for their Ministry directly by God. Most of them today have not been called for the ministry, for they are hirelings.

True pastors, elders, ministers would firstly daily read their Bible for one hour and pray daily for others.

http://anyonecare.wordpress.com/

27 07 2008
Larry

Taxi Principle depicts what we tend to be, that is, not understanding the required commitment and planning for the completion of the task at hand. We need to trust that God is going to help us, but I believe that we need to also plan to assist him for him to be successful.

The Taxi Principle illustrates that moving forward with a task without planning the required resources or action, will cause the end goal to fall short or morph into something other that we expected. We need to detail the plan for success. Man plans for success, but God directs his steps.

27 07 2008
thenonconformer

“You are not to go to the left or to the right unless you hear a voice ( of the Holy Spirt) saying this is the way walk there in”.. Many of us have not learned as to how to hear this voice .

God leads us in many ways, through his word, through people, but God will confirm his will for us still too. I have had often had to learn spiritual truths the hard way, by trying to do my own thing and failing at it, and Jesus reminding me that I could do nothing without him. Now I pray before I do anything and I await his instructions, if God does not lead me, or tells me not to do something, I tend not to do it. I had bought a pair summer shorts recently and I wanted to get matching T-shirt to it too.. I had tried a few stores but was unable to get the matching color that I had wanted. So I prayed about it and God told me not to look for it. I have learned he will deal with it his way and in his time. So I went along with my normal agendas. I had to go the drug store to get my medicine renewed so I did so. I was surprised to find the matching T-shirt, in the color I had wanted on sale at half price too in the drug store. After I pray I have come to learn to expect God will answer the prayer, I do not have to do it in my own strength.

Leave a Reply

