Catalyst: The Star Trek Principle

24 09 2008

LESSON #12: Viewers followed the starship enterprise because it boldly went where no man had gone before. Leaders initiate and set standards. They have a compass in their head and a magnet in their heart.

LEARNING: This really hit me on a number of levels.

1. Epic. When I look the church across the United States…less and less people attend…more and more people think it’s irrelevant. At Epic, we are willing to blow up old paradigms, pioneer new methods, and use all the creativity that God has placed within us. Why? To just be different. No, but to “do whatever it takes” to reach people for Christ. I love the vision that God has given us and I personally could not live my life for any smaller cause.

What new dreams to you think God is dreaming for Epic?

2. Leadership. “Look at a man the way that he is, and he only becomes worse. But look at a man as if he were what he could be, and he becomes what he should be” The greatest cause deserves the greatest calling. Do you feel like you’ve reached your God given potential yet? I recently watched “We Were Soldiers.” I am always inspired by Hal Moore’s Leadership. I love this scene:

Personally God has been doing the Stretch Armstrong thing as a leader over the last couple years. When you are not growing, you declining. You can help me…

Where do I need to grow as leader? What area of my leadership should focus my energy to grow?

Actions

Information

3 responses

25 09 2008
Denise Hillbom

Man, I don’t want to buy breakfast, so here goes. I remember my last church job I know I was a manager and not a leader. Since I have been part of the Epic adventure I know I am a leader. I sometimes question my role only because life can distract me from my purpose. This Star Trek reading has helped me remember who I am in Christ, where He has placed me for His purpose. When I feel overwhelmed Christ always comes through whith help in the way of my church family. What seems like work from the front side always ends up being fun, because I am never alone in the work.

So Tim, my constructive criticism of you would be to not take things personal, and to stay on your focus and be who Christ created you to be. Don’t let the busyness of Epic pull you away from your focus and purpose that Christ has given you, to bring the Bible stories alive, as you do so well, to equip and release people into ministrie (as I am one of your victims lol) and don’t forget your passion for community, it is infectious. Lastly, remember you aren’t alone in this, we are all with you and can take care of the things you shouldn’t. Rock on Brother.

26 09 2008
Kathy

The area I know that I need to grow as a leader is that sometimes i am too easy-going. I could set my standards higher sometimes. And i get “comfortable”. I need to challenge myself more.

8 10 2008
Jodi Kade

It sounds as though you want us to tell you what we think you should do that would help you become an even better leader…yikes…I’m not good at that. I can tell you what my husband and children need to do to become better individuals. However, when it comes to others, I don’t quite know how to handle it.

I’m going to take a stab at this, but remember this is just my personal opinion…so don’t take it too seriously…lol.

I would say an important area for you to put your focus, is on those people who do so much for Epic. I feel like it’s so easy for people to get burnt out, and then go around feeling as if they’re not even sure why they’re doing what they do anymore. I know people really need to hear it from you. Although I also understand that you cannot be everything to everyone. I’ve been wondering if we have it backwards, maybe just a little. We have you focus so much on new people, but I’m beginning to wonder if we should have a team of people who are good at hospitality and conveying the vision of Epic, to be responsible for new people. This would allow you the opportunity to focus on the people who are doing so much to make Epic a success. We can’t move ahead if we keep expecting more and more from those who already do so much, without somehow letting them know how incredibly valuable they are. You do sometimes say things like, nice job, I appreciate what your doing, etc…but I’m not sure it’s sinking in, and that people really believe you appreciate them.

I guess I feel like your sincere love and attention, to those who are already apart of Epic, would really go along way. That includes everyone, even the little people, not just team leaders. I think some of us who’ve been here for so long, wonder if you’re placing too much time and effort on brining in and noticing the new person, and not enough on caring for those that are already here. It almost feels like we’re chatty, kind, and caring to new people and new prospects, to get them in the door and involved, but once they’re in, it’s no longer acceptable for them to expect any attention from you. Does that make sense? I KNOW you care about, and appreciate everyone at Epic and all that they do, I think it’s just not being conveyed in a way that people can see. I think if you focus on the people that are here, they will feel loved, confident, and secure…and in turn, they’ll go out and bring in others. They’ll be confident that Epic is a place where their friends, family members, co-workers, etc…will feel the love of Christ around them. They’ll feel as though they have something special (Epic) to offer others.

Ok…that was rough. I guess I’m still not sure it’s really ok to tell you how I feel. I don’t want you to be upset with me, or be too hard on yourself. I just want us to take what we’re learning, make some changes, and move forward.

As far as me improving my leadership abilities…I feel totally inadequate sometimes, in fact most of the time. I need to learn how to be a bit more self confident to start. Next, I would say I should improve on my follow through. It’s easy for me to get excited about starting something new, and getting involved in something new, and then drop the ball a few weeks down the road.

Leave a Reply

