30/30: Economy. Worry. Psalm 62.

3 10 2008

Every day, we seem to hear another story about the falling economy, the promises of politicians or the uneasy feelings people have about the future. Kathy and I purchased our house three years ago and have watched the value fall a 1/3 of what we payed for it. We looked at one another this week and said our house won’t be worth what we paid for it until probably 2018. The funny thing is that we haven’t found ourselves upset at what’s happened (I believe you’re lame when you blame). We haven’t found ourselves even worried about the future (it is completely outside of our control). Ironically, we’ve found ourselves having overwhelming feelings of thankfulness. Yesterday, God was really speaking to me though Psalm 62. It a psalm written by David (remember the dude who took on Goliath). The words are really poignant for today. Check it out.

1 My soul finds rest in God alone; my salvation comes from Him.
2 He alone is my rock and my salvation; He is my fortress, I will never be shaken.

Our hope doesn’t come from an election, a person, a bailout, a rebound on Wall Street…My HOPE comes from Jesus alone.

Our rest doesn’t come from a big nest egg, a vacation, a shopping spree, even a paycheck…My soul finds REST in Jesus alone.

God has given Kathy and I so much to be thankful for…a wonderful marriage, three great kids, an incredible church family, a roof over our heads, unbelievable friends, a loving family…not to mention a Savior who loves us, redeemed us and taken us on this incredible journey of following Him. Seriously, there is nothing better than moving each day with Jesus. We have so much to be thankful for. Have you paused long enough today to thank Him for what you do have?

I love what happens next in the Psalm. Even though David said it, He’s not feeling rested, so he goes on…

5 FIND REST, O my soul, in God alone; my hope comes from Him.
6 He alone is my rock and my salvation; He is my fortress, I will not be shaken.

“Find Rest”…He’s talking to himself. He’s not feeling it, but He reminding Himself of what God has done. Faith is not feelings. Faith is putting our trust in the One who holds our life, our future and our feelings in His hands. So I will…8 Trust in Him at ALL times, O people; POUR OUT your hearts to Him, for God is our refuge.

What area of your life to need to trust Him today?

Actions

Information

One response

8 10 2008
Jodi Kade

You’re totally right on Tim! Without Christ, there is no hope, only fear and blame. This is a scary time for us financially, but when we stop and remember that it is totally out of our control, and that it is God who provides for us, it suddenly comes into perspective. We will have what we need, even if that means a change in lifestyle, because what we have isn’t necessarily what we need. I’m thankful that I can find rest, strength, and comfort in Him, through these times of economic uncertainty.

Leave a Reply

