Are You Rich?

22 01 2009

When I think of money and what I have, I would definitely say “I am not rich.” But my thinking was challenged as I prepped for this weekends message about “The Other Thing Men Think About.”

If your family makes $37,ooo year, you’re in the top 4% of wage earners in the world. If your family makes $45,000 year, you’re in the top 1% of the richest people in the world. I am richsmp-image

3% of the worlds population owns a car. I’m so rich I have two. I am rich.

I not only have a home, but I have a house for my car so it doesn’t get rain and snow on it. Our garage is 3 times larger than the average home on the planet. I am rich.

I have running water in my home. I don’t have to walk to fetch water. (I couldn’t find the stats for how many people around the world don’t have running water). I am rich.

Three Billion people (1/2 the worlds population) works for less than $2 a day. I just bought a Caribou Coffee for twice that amount. I am rich.

I never go to bed hungry. I’ve got a cupboard full of food. Last night 3.5 billion people on this planet went to bed hungry. I am rich.

I don’t think I’m rich, because I know people who have more. Other people are rich, but not me. In my opinion, I’m not rich, but that is really just a lie I say to myself. From the worlds standards, I am rich. I’m the one who Jesus was speaking about when He said. “How hard it is for the rich to enter the kingdom of God! Indeed, it is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle than for a rich man to enter the kingdom of God” in Luke 18:24-25 .

It got me thinking,”Did God make me rich so I could consume all that I make on me?” and “Did God make rich so I could spend all I make on my family?” I’ve always made gave financially first to God, because He’s behind all I have. But I’m walking down a new road of learning what it means to be “outrageously generous” with everything that God has given me.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

