He’s Very Fond of Me: Galatians 4:6-7

24 06 2009

building verses2You can tell for sure that you are now fully adopted as his own children because God sent the Spirit of his Son into our lives crying out, “Papa! Father!” Doesn’t that privilege of intimate conversation with God make it plain that you are not a slave, but a child? Galatians 4:6-7

How do you view God? How do you view yourself? In “Abba’s Child, Brennan Manning tells the wonderful story about an Irish priest who’s traveling the countryside, and he sees an old peasant sitting by the side of the road. When the priest gets closer, he realizes this peasant is praying, and the priest is impressed. He says to the peasant, “You must be quite close to God.” The peasant looks up from his prayers and thinks for a moment, and then he says, “Yes, He’s very fond of me.”

“He’s very fond of me.” Do you know that God is very fond of you? Do you realize that is the type of relationship He is inviting you into?

One of Jesus’ closest friends on earth was a disciple named John. In the Gospel he wrote,  John describes himself not as a disciple, not as a worker for God and not even as a follower of Christ. He simply refers to himself as “the one Jesus loved.” That was his primary identity in life. “I am the one Jesus loves.”

What would it look like in my life and yours if we too saw this as our primary identity in life as “the one Jesus loves”? How differently would I view myself at the end of the day if I really believed that “He’s very fond of me”? How would my life change if I truly believed the Bible’s astounding words about God’s love for me, if I looked in the mirror and saw what God sees?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

