Vacation Unplug: 5 Things I Didn’t Miss

22 07 2009

I was on vacation with the family the last two weeks in DC and WV. I had a fantastic time camping and hanging out. To plug in more with the family, I unplugged from technology. I limited my twitter and phone time to a few minutes a day, and went completely without a number items that are regularly part of my life.

Here’s the Top 5 Things I Went Without on Vacation

  1. Computer
  2. Television.
  3. Headphones.
  4. Coffee.
  5. Socks.

To be 100% honest , I did not miss any one of them. Which was very strange, but surprisingly true. I was reflecting last night how I need to unplug technology in order to really plug in more to life. I realize it’s ironic that I’m saying I need to unplug, while I’m typing on a computer, but that is what Christ was saying to me. I’m not sure where it will go or how that will effect my life, but these are questions I’m asking right now. I’ll keep you posted on what I’m learning…

Actions

Information

2 responses

22 07 2009
Marie

Funny, this is like the list of things you should do to lose weight (for me at least) : Stop smoking (don’t in the first place), cut down on pop (I’m a tea drinker, I know how much you dislike it!) , Cut out snack foods (we don’t even HAVE any in the house!)

I avoid socks as much as possible, and suffer from stinky feet in the process. Small price to pay. I don’t do headphones, partially because then I couldn’t hear my kids yelling for me…hey wait a minute, I’ve just had a GREAT idea! AND I have one coffee a week, at church, and it has 4 french vanilla creamers in it. Yes, this is why we go through so many.

Unfortunately, our tv is almost always on. For some reason even if we’re not watching it, I like the noise. And as for the computer, it’s the only “adult” conversation I get all day!

I hope your vacation was as relaxing and refreshing (in mind, body and spirit) as our was!

22 07 2009
Tim Kade

LOL!
Thanks Marie. Vaca was good

Leave a Reply

